Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Wedding album finished

Wedding album

Well it is finally finished! I am now awaiting delivery of some A3 size cardstock to make the box for the album. The album covers are 30 cm x 18.5cm (approximately 12″ x 7.5″) and are constructed from greyboard covered with ivory pearlescent paper and burgundy metallic paper. Leslie can you spot one of the charms you sent me? It is nestled amongst the ribbon on the spine – a heart shaped charm that I have used gold Goldfinger on (similar to rub ‘n’ buff ). The hanging sign is a Bigz die cut by Tim Holtz; I die cut two brackets, one in white gold pearlescent cs and another in a very deep red cs and then adhered them together slightly off so that it gives a drop shadow effect. The script on the frame took ages of fiddling around on the computer to get it just as I wanted it and then printing it out several times until I had the right font size! Doing that probably was the most time-consuming, it certainly was the most frustrating!

Once I had the font size sorted and the wording right and double, nay triple, checked I had the date right I could then adhere the frame over the wording on the printer paper and put it back through the printer and it came out not too bad at all. I used an old necklace chain to attach the frame to the bracket with glossy accents.

The bouquet of flowers was made up from several different sprays and adhered with glossy accents, then the chiffon type fabric was taped down over the top and a few extra flowers added to the fabric to cover up a glue mark :) I noticed that there is a small glue mark showing so just might have to add a touch more glue and sprinkle glitter over it.

Inside are 10 sheets of cardstock with smaller strips of cardstock added in between each page at the spine end to give thickness here to allow for any embellishments or keepsakes to be added and each page has a covering of thick tissue – all acid & lignin free – to help protect the photos. I hadn’t got a clue what to do on the pages (no change there then!), didn’t know whether to stamp them, leave them bare or what. So I edged them with a gold Krylon-type pen and then decided to stamp and emboss images on each page. I didn’t want to do too much as this album is for Darren and Jill to put in whatever they want as a memento of their wedding day. The following photos are just a sample of the images I stamped & embossed and two of the photos are blurry for which I apologise!

phrase stamped on album page

 

B Lines Design bird stamp

 

ivy leaves

 

peacock feathers

 

 
 
Thanks for looking xx
Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Wedding album finished

  1. billiescraftroom on said:

    Well done, its superb. Really beautiful. Congratulations.

    The die cuts really make a statement on the cover. Wonderful, Im sure they will treasure it forever.

    Best wishes

    Billie :)

    • Thank you Billie. I was quite pleased with how the cover turned out especially the die cuts although that frame took a bit of messing around getting the wording sorted out:)

      Hugs
      Lynn xx

  2. Oh Lynn! It’s just beautiful! I love everything about it but my most favorite part is the gorgeous flower and bead spray on the cover! It’s just wonderful! The way you shadowed the sign is terrific as well!
    Did you get my email? Of course you didn’t because I haven’t sent it yet! lol I have this terrible problem these days…yes, ANOTHER one! Every time I open my laptop…I fall fast asleep! Seriously!! Can you believe it? You’d think I was 85 years old instead of…well…not 85!! haha I’ve got a ways to go to 50! Uh oh…I’m fast fading so I better wrap this up! I’m thinking of you and hoping to get the email sent off soon. Maybe I’ll just have to send you 20 short ones! haha The one long one will certainly put you to sleep after all this time!
    Have a great night, my friend! Thank you for sharing your creativity!
    Nancy :)

    • Yes Nancy send me 20 short ones instead :) Sort of tweets by email lol When you open the laptop your brain is obviously thinking it is time to relax and closes down!
      Wish I had a ways to go before I was 50! I’m halfway through the 50s already; where did the time go???? I quite often read a few pages of a book after our evening meal and frequently nod off over the book :) Rod thinks it is very amusing.
      Thank you so much for your lovely comments about the album. I’ve just received an email to say the cardstock is on its way so I shall be able to get the box made this weekend and have some more of those flower and bead sprays left with which to decorate the lid.

      Love and hugs
      Lynn xx

  3. Beautiful. An amazing job you’ve done with this wedding album. I love the cover, it is so elegant. Love the Tim Holtz sign pieces.

    Your inside pages are divine. I particularly like the peacock :-) Your embossed ivy page and the “Love” definition are fantastic.

    So good to see your work once again. I wanna go home :-(

    Love you – Leslie

    • Thanks Leslie for your lovely comments.
      I bet if you had made this it would have looked superb and you would have had more idea of what to put on the inside pages. Only the second album I have made but think Jill and Darren will like it – hope so!!!!!!!!!!

      Love and hugs
      Lynn xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

