Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Simplicity Challenge #1

By know anyone who follows the One Layer Wednesday challenge fist started by Susan Raihala will know that there is now a ‘one stop blog’ for the challenge and it has changed name too. From hence forwards it will be known as the One Layer Simplicity Challenge or OLS for short! The challenges are for those who like or would like to create Clean and Simple cards that only have one layer and few embellishments.

It isn’t that those of us drawn towards CAS style cards are sniffy about the many layered and embellished cards but that occasionally a CAS card makes a change or some of us can’t create those multi layered cards no matter how hard we try. I tend to be a middle of the road card maker but find myself being drawn more and more towards the One Layer cards although I can be very daring and actually two or three layers!

For my entry for this challenge I am entering a selection of cards I needed to make – these were Thank You cards in the main although there is a more general Best Wishes for someone who is feeling a little under the weather just now.

Die cut foam shapes for the background

Die cut foam shapes for the background

009 sig006 sig004 sigThe background shadow stamps have been created using dies to cut craft foam an idea gleaned from Silverwolf’s blog. I found Versamagic Inks perfect for the foam although I believe Shaz uses Distress Inks but I don’t have enough shades of those. For the top images black Archival Ink was used and the stamps are a selection from Creative Expression’s ‘Lost Garden’ set and Oxford Impressions ‘The Birds Nest’. The flower and sentiments are ancient stamps and can’t be credited to any company.

This design is becoming a firm favourite and gives me the chance to use stamps that would otherwise languish uninked.

Thank you for looking x

ShabbyBlogsDividerF

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Simplicity Challenge #1

  1. magnifisue bravo bises raymonde

  2. These cards are absolutely stunning! I can’t pick a favorite! Although, the first one I would say if I were forced to, only because of the colors and the designs that wend through the colors. Brilliant.

    Love you my friend – Leslie

  3. Oh Lynn… Simplicity???? Gorgeous!!! Thanks so much for sharing, you keep my mind thinking ;-)

  4. They are all lovely Lynn. I like the shadow stamps you made. I will have to break into my fun foam sometime soon and cut some shapes. It will be a good way to have some new stamps. Thanks for sharing
    Love and hugs
    Shelly

  5. Gorgeous cards and that window stamp is fantastic Lynn, wonderful.
    Big hugs from Poppy and me xxx

  6. Love these cards Lynn, soft and beautiful. For some reason Google hasn’t been allowing me to comment so sorry for the delay. Kxx

  7. What a wonderful collection of soft and pretty cards! Gorgeous use of the foam for shadows…and I love those stamps you’ve used, too, especially the gothic arched window. Thanks so much for playing along with the One-Layer Simplicity Challenge!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

