Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Recipes

A shorter post but just had to put these recipes up. Not sure whether some of these ingredients or similar will be available in the US. For instance perhaps Leslie or Nancy could tell me if maltesers are on sale over there? Maltesers are small balls of honeycombe coated with chocolate, very light to eat but most more-ish -yummm!

The first recipe came from the school where one of our twin daughters works it was then modified by the other twin daughter as I couldn’t get the original recipe to set very well. So here it is:

Chocolate Tiffin

500 grams (approx 18 ozs) crushed Digestive or Rich Tea biscuits
150 grams (approx 5.5 ozs) hard/block margarine or butter
4 tablespoons golden syrup
300 grams (approx 10.5 ozs) chocolate – mix of dark and milk
Few raisins
Also can be added chopped nuts, cherries or sultanas

Melt chocolate, margarine and syrup together over a low heat until margarine has melted. Put crushed biscuits and raisins into a large bowl and pour melted mixture into the bowl. Stir well and then press into a well greased swiss roll tin and chill.
Melted chocolate can be spread over the top before chilling. Once set cut into bars and store in a plastic container in a cool place.

Malteser cake

85 grams (3 ozs) butter
2 tablespoons golden syrup
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
170 grams (6ozs) crushed digestive biscuits
175 grams (7 ozs) maltesers -half crushed/half left whole

Melt butter and golden syrup gently in a pan.
Put cocoa powder, crushed biscuits and crushed maltesers into a bowl and add melted syrup and butter, combine well.
Allow to cool slightly and stir in whole maltesers.
Line a cake tin with cling film and pour in mixture. Press down carefully. Chill until set and cut into small wedges.

A little goes a long way!

The chocolate tiffin makes a nice gift when put into a lined container.
The beauty of these recipes is that there is no baking and they make ideal treats to go with a mug of tea or coffee.


This is Katie, our border collie, who also loves chocolate tiffin and malteser cake

Happy tasting y’all

Lynn

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Recipes

  1. Oh my! Lynn…those recipes sound fantastically yummy!! We have Maltesers here in Canada, although I haven't actually tried them myself! I think my husband would really love these treats! Thanks for posting the recipes! Also, thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving such a sweet comment!…Nancy :o)

  2. Nancy you must give them a try, maltesers are lovely :)Thank you for the lovely comments, let me know how you get on with the recipes. Not sure about whether the type of biscuits mentioned are available in Canada or the US – they are a drier, plain biscuit ideal for dunking in tea or coffee. The digestive type are a coarser sweet biscuit that can be eaten as are or with cheese.HugsLynn x

  3. Oh yes Lynn…digestive biscuits are certainly available here! I have a brand new box in my cupboard right now! I love to have them with tea…I reserve the chocolate treats for my coffee! I haven't been up to any baking lately but I'll sure put these on the list for when I can get back to it! :o)

  4. Okay you two. I'm totally thrilled that the both of you know about Maltesers, digestive biscuits, and golden syrup.I'm clueless here. US biscuits are far from digestive. Too many eaten at one sitting will stop up the digestive system instead of aid it. US biscuits are 3/4 inch to 2 inches tall, about 2-1/2 inches in diameter and are made with flour, salt, baking soda, and some kind of shortening (butter/margarine or vegetable shortening). Your "biscuits" must be the equivalent of a US cookie which is sweet, 1/4 inch thick and has a diameter of 2 to 5 inches.Maltesers, I'm not even going there because I have no clue where to even begin looking for that stuff.Golden syrup? Is that a clear syrup with molasses or sorghum added?Now, CHOCOLATE I do know about and consume regularly :-)Reading the recipe and the discourse between the two of you has been fun. Don't know what you two are talking about but it has been fun, none the less.Love y'all :-)Leslie

  5. Oh, by the way. I see you've changed your blog background. Out with the old and in with the new? Just need a change? Love your blog anyway, and I'm glad you have begun again.Love and hugs – Leslie

  6. haha…That's cute Leslie! No! Not the biscuits we bake ourselves…the digestive biscuits are the ones you buy in the cookie aisle at the grocery store. In England they call cookies biscuits. They're not the arrowroot kind that you give the babies either. They're yummier!Golden syrup is corn syrup. Is Golden the brand there Lynn? We have the Golden brand here in Canada so I just assumed that's what you meant.Maltesers would be in the same aisle as Whoppers! haha Do you have those down there?Love you too girl! :o)

  7. Leslie thank you so much for your comments. I saw the shabby look on Nancy's blog and went hunting!!Golden syrup is so called because it is a golden colour instead of the dark colour of treacle. It is made from cane sugar so you could say it is highly refined sugar. If you were making gingerbread or ginger biscuits/cookies what would you use in that? We use golden syrup or treacle if we want a darker colour.I think I had better leave the recipes alone as it causes too much confusion :)The biscuits Leslie are equivalent to US cookies.I think Nancy we shall have to send a Red Cross Box to Leslie so she knows what she is missing 🙂 You just have to try maltesers Leslie!Many thanks to you both for the lovely comments and the entertainment.Love and hugsLynn xxx

  8. Whoppers! I love Whoppers. And Golden Syrup would be the equivalent to our Dark Karo Syrup – a corn syrup with molasses added.Okay! I think I can give this a try now that I know what this stuff is.What fun. And don't you dare stop putting up recipes, Lynn. I'm not lean here because I like tasting new foods. These recipes might have to be tried this Christmas.

  9. I agree Leslie! Lynn must continue with the recipes! I also agree that these ones would make very good Christmas treats! I MUST bake for Christmas…no way around THAT! Or is it no way ROUND that? lolThank you so much for your sweet comments on my blog Lynn! I so enjoy seeing you've stopped in!…Nancy :o)

  10. It is the reason why I am so round! I am making the tiffin for Thursday morning as we have a dear old friend – he is in his 90s – coming for a chat and a cup of tea and he has a sweet tooth so he will enjoy this :)I think if we three ever met up there wouldn't be many silent periods!!!!!!love and hugsLynn xx

Leave a Reply

