Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Experimenting…..

…..or Creative Play as Jann would have it! Jann is a lovely, chatty, generous, inspiring artist who is encouraging us crafters to get out of our comfort zones and creatively play with our materials and supplies and it is so liberating. It is liberating because there is no restraint to complete a project; pull out all those supplies that have been languishing in drawers and cupboards and give them a new lease of life!

One aspect of crafting that I admire is brayer work; some crafters create beautiful backgrounds and scenes using a brayer so I bought a speedball brayer many moons ago to see if I could also create those marvellous backgrounds and scenes…but it never happened! My backgrounds had hard lines on them; I have studied endless Youtube videos and DVDs to be instructed in the use of a brayer and then decided to do as Jan suggested – just play and see what I could achieve.

The following photos are of my experimental pieces. I used small pieces (approximately 6 x 4 inches) of glossy cardstock with various inks but predominantly Ranger’s Big and Juicy rainbow dye inks.

brayer work

bouncing brayer

scene

These are only a few of the pieces I did and the play was fun but I never did achieve one piece without the hard lines somewhere… the bouncing brayer piece would always have those definition lines anyway. I am not going to think or say I failed because I can overstamp and cut up the pieces of cardstock and use them, however I can say that, for me, the brayer is still a good tool for making sure I have good adhesion when sticking paper down!

I have come to the conclusion that I am not going to beat myself up about my inability to use a brayer as some crafters are able to but I can achieve very good results with a sponge, dauber or brush to create those background scenes!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Experimenting…..

  1. I Think they look neat πŸ™‚ I dont always have success with out lines when using a brayer either. I was told to start in the middle then pull the ink out to the sides. does that make sense? Anyway I am happy you had fun and thats really the goal. Three cheers for Jann,for getting us all out of our comfort zone!!!! The next thing on my wish list is to put patterns together so it dosent look like a huge mess of shapes. Gotta finish the Halloween card first. I was excited to see a new post from you, Internet problems solved Yipee πŸ™‚ Will be waiting to see what you use your brayer pieces for.
    take care πŸ™‚

    Love and hugs,
    Shelly

  2. Thanks Shelly although they don’t look quite so bad in the photos πŸ™‚ Don’t forget to make yourself a junque journal..the beauty of making one of those journals is that it can be done a bit at a time – whenever you have a few minutes to spare!
    I was so lost without my internet connection, I suddenly realised just how much time I waste on this computer πŸ™‚
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

  3. You see the faults, I don’t. The only one I saw the hard lines on was the “bouncing brayer” effect. I quite like that one. I like all you have done but the bouncing brayer one has a sort of kaleidoscope effect. I love your scenes with the white circle. Maybe a moon lit night scene or a sunset or sunrise scene. Looks like you had a blast playing around with your brayer πŸ™‚

    I’m glad to know that you are following Jann’s “Creative Play” and are finding it to be fun. I can’t wait until my time of being on the road is over and done so that I can join in on the playing.

    As with Shelly, I’m looking forward to seeing what final bit of creativity you use with your experimenting, what these will end up being.

    Love you my Friend – Leslie

  4. We are always overcritical of our own work aren’t we? The bouncing brayer one is effective and does have a kaleidoscope look to it. I did have fun Leslie even if the pieces didn’t turn out quite as I hoped πŸ™‚ They can still be used though so nothing wasted LOL

    You will soon be at home playing in your craft room and we can’t wait to see what you come up with. I’d like to see your take on the junque journal thing..with your talent and lateral style that would be an amazing thing to see.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Thank you for your vote of confidence in me on the Junque Journal. You are right in saying we are over critical of our own work. Always putting it aside as not good enough. Perfectionists the whole lot of us πŸ™‚

      I can’t wait to get home this winter and play in my room. You, Jann, and Shelly have given me ideas to play around with and I am just itching to get with it instead of traipsing across the country πŸ™‚

      Love you – Leslie

  5. Pingback: Those experimental pieces :) | Gardenpinks' Blog

Leave a Reply

