Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Dominoes…basic guide to altering part 1

I have taken 6 white dominoes and a small black plastic domino to alter and share how I have set about the job! On all the dominoes we are working on the plain side; I’ve used a selection of inks and markers to create the background. This first picture (sorry about it being out of focus) shows them all together to give some idea of the size of the black domino!

Altogether

Now here they are individually:

markers

The above one was coloured with Promarkers (similar to Copics but much, much cheaper); as these are alcohol ink based they dried without any assistance.

The next dominoes had alcohol inks splodged (good technical term!) onto the surface. How much splodging is done changes the patterning. I found that if the ink was sponged on then it tended to wipe off the shiny surface hence splodging or dabbing..which ever technical term you want to use 🙂

Bottle & Denim alcohol inks

Yellow & orange alcohol inks

The following one has had VersaMagic chalk ink sponged on using cut ‘n’ dry; this ink won’t dry on its own so needs to be dried off with a heat gun. Note of caution here – when using the heat gun, the dominoes retain the heat for sometime so be very careful especially when using embossing powder/UTEE!

pinks - Versa Magic chalk ink

The final white one was coloured with a dye based ink, Whisper Royal Blue, and again needed to be dried with a heat gun.

Whisper dye base ink - Royal Blue

At this stage I had not done anything with the black domino but will show that in part 2!

It isn’t necessary to colour the edges of the dominoes but, of course, if you want to then carry on. Anything goes!

Hope this has given you some ideas so far 🙂

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Dominoes…basic guide to altering part 1

  1. This is COOL! Great post you’ve done on using the various inks, markers, and chalks. Now I can play with more things when I go back and work on the ones I’ve done today. What fun!

    Great tutorial, Lynn. Also, I love your “Watermark”! I can’t figure PhotoShop out. I’m totally jealous 😀

    Love you – Leslie

    • I love what you have done so far Leslie but you quite tickled me with the way you worked out how to erase any possible mistakes first 🙂 I haven’t got any of that rubbing alcohol so have to figure out another way of covering up any oopsies.
      I haven’t got Photoshop or Photoshop elements but do have Paint Shop Pro and found out a tutorial on how to make a tube. Tubes are an easy way to create signatures; I donwloaded various tubes for PSP off the internet and then added the text and exported the resulting image as a tube. There are loads of tutorials on how to do the same thing in Photoshop and possibly in Gimp too.
      It took me a long time to work out how to do things in PSP and I finally did a course via the internet but one big thing I have learnt is that unless you use the graphics programme regularly you soon forget everything! I printed out loads of things to remind me:) I bought a book about using PSP but I needed a Masters Degree in understanding the book 🙂
      Love and hugs
      Lynn xx

      • I ran right out, several years ago, and bought the cheaper PhotoShop Elements after seeing what had been done with scrapbook photos.

        Crapazoid! You are totally correct in needing a Masters Degree in understanding the books that have been written to guide a person through the process. I’m even totally confused after reading “PhotoShop Elements for DUMMIES”! Needless to say, I haven’t used that dreaded software in years. It takes up space on my computer. Out of sight and out of mind! Every once in a while I get a thought to open it up and tinker with it. Much like a temptation….I am successful in not indulging in the temptation to open PhotoShop Elements 😀

        I wonder if there is rubbing alcohol in the UK but under a different name. I would think your doctors and nurses use some type of antiseptic before giving one a shot. That is what is used here in the US anyway – rubbing alcohol.

        Love you – Leslie

  2. Find some tutorials for Photoshop elements on the internet, they are usually written in an easy to understand language and have screenshots for you to follow. This was the only way I came to understand Paint Shop Pro 🙂 Make sure that you check for Photoshop Elements though or you could end up learning about the full blown Photoshop and that is a whole ‘nother story 🙂
    There is possibly rubbing alcohol available at the chemist shop (pharmacy); when we have injections or blood taken for tests then a tiny packet is opened in which a piece of wipe lurks and this swiped over the injection site – presumably the wipe is impregnanted with rubbing alcohol.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

Leave a Reply

