Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Dress form template

Something a little different from my usual crafting and another of Sara’s templates over on Cardmaking Paradise is the Dress Form. Now I would love to get hold of an actual dress form; you know the ones that are sold for ‘altering’? I just love those and would like to have a go at one, I have no idea what I would do to it but ….. I haven’t got a wish list however I do have several Want Lists! Each page is dedicated to a specific area such as inks, dies and embossing folders, etc I’m sure you get the message! All I need to do is win the lottery 🙂

However I digress, back to the dress form template; I printed the template straight onto 250gsm cardstock, I am very fortunate that my Canon Printer takes most thicknesses of paper/cardstock into its stride, and cut out the various parts of the template. I used the dress part to draw around onto some paper I’ve been hoarding for over a year. This paper is gorgeous, a shiny metallic gold background with red flocked pattern. On the dress form itself I used a touch of Sahara Sand Memento ink to give the ‘skin’ a hint of colouring.

Dress form

This is a lovely free standing card, I adorned it with a few pearl beads strung onto fine twine as a belt and a piece of chain with leaf charm as a necklace.

Sara donates 10% of all membership fees towards her new charity’ Crafty Smiles’ bringing crafts to children in Oncology Wards around the country.
You can join in wherever you are in the world.

Thank you for looking x

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Dress form template

  1. OOOhhh how lovely is this !! Happy to see your latest posts 🙂
    We are away and getting on line has been a bit of a challenge since the villa dont have wifi. So to solve my problem I brought it over to the lodge and the others are swimming and I’m hanging out by the arcade cave checking my mail and trolling the blogs I follow. I havent heard anymore from Leslie so I hope things are well in Oaklahoma. I’m off to see whats been going on while we were away.

    Love and hugs,
    Shelly

  2. I really love the way you have done this Lynn, in fact I would love that dress! 🙂

  3. Beautiful dress!! Very classy! You have figured out a way to make this work for you. Printing the pattern out on card stock then doing all the fussy cutting. This looks just as fantastic as any die cut that could be popped out in seconds. Well Done!!

    Hmmmm, wonder if you might have an alternate future in fashion design 😀 Just saying, that dress is fantastic.

    Love you – Leslie

  4. My dress sense is absolutely awful Leslie so no alternate future there 😀 I have had this paper for ages and never quite knew what to use it on but it makes a lovely dress and the flocking gives it some texture.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn x

  5. I really love what you have done with the card template! I am a sucker for “dress forms” of all sizes…a friend of mine has one that she found at a flea market….and she has it free standing in her studio…and she pins ATC cards from swaps onto it. I think it is a brilliant way to have inspiration close at hand. I go over to “borrow” her inspiration often.

    Anyway…love this card…and especially that it is free standing! Great design! Have a great week!

    Jann

  6. billiescraftroom on said:

    Be careful what you wish for…
    Would this work for you? http://www.thecraftbarn.co.uk/product.php/16820/torso
    I realise they are out of stock at the moment but perhaps they will get more in. You’d need to add a stick for the stand but if its 3d you want it would be a place to start 😉

    Have fun

    Billie x

Leave a Reply

