Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Book Card.

The talented Sara from Cardmaking Paradise came up with a lovely project of making a Book Card. Open the cover of the ‘card’ and a frame is revealed. When closed it does indeed look like a book and is so easy to make. This is such a versatile project as it can be a gift and card in one, made for male or female recipients and for any occasion.

I can envisage this being made for special people for Christmas; the ‘book’ part would easily hold a gift card, small silk scarf, piece of jewellery or….I think you get the idea!! The beauty of the Book Card is that it can be made to be simple and elegant or as decorated as you would want. The samples made by the Design Team are lovely and one was made for a Christening.

This is the one I made for a friend’s recent birthday:

Book Card cover

The cover is created from Bazzil cardstock, sponged with Spun Sugar Distress Ink and stamped with this owl/leaf flourish from Katzelkraft Autumn stamp set. Love those owls!

Inside Book Card

Now my friend loves birds ….would you have guessed??? The back of the frame is lined with handmade paper – piece of copy paper ‘painted’ with mica paints, scrunched up whilst still damp and then opened out again, a Brilliance ink was lightly dragged across to just catch the creases and then a script stamp stamped in Versafine Smoky Gray. The feathers are ones I have collected over time when out on walks and the bird (Papermania Urban Stamps) was stamped onto paper and cut out and mounted on top of the feathers. The frame edge was embossed (Sizzix leaves and swirls) and then an ink pad dragged over the top to just catch the embossing.

All of Cardmaking Paradise’s projects are available as downloads in various formats so that if you are one of the lucky ones with a cutting machine (e.g. Cameo, CraftRobo) you can use your machine to cut out the templates; for those not so fortunate then the templates can be downloaded to your computer in a pdf format and printed directly from your computer and hand cut. Click on one of the links to check out the Cardmaking Paradise site and become a member, we’d love to see you there!

Thank you for looking

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Book Card.

  1. Message In A Fold on said:

    Your friend is bound to love getting this card. Especially seeing the feathers you have thoughtfully collected and included inside.

    Excellent construction job. This card is quite elegant. Your stamping and crinkling technique, along with the embossed paper makes me want to run my fingers over the whole piece just to feel the textures.

    It is wonderful seeing your creations once again.

    Love you – Leslie

    ps. I’m glad your Internet is back up once again 😀

  2. billiescraftroom on said:

    I do, I love this card, thank you sooo much. Everything about it is wonderful. Its on my shelf where I can see it all the time.

    hugs

    Billie x

  3. Absolutely gorgeous

  4. Totally love your “book card” – I am going to have to try it out soon! Thanks for stopping by the blog…I will give you an update on how long the “stamped nails” last. My nails are pretty short (and I am keeping them that way on purpose)…and the top coat Seche Vite is supposed to be REALLY tough….so we will see. I am VERY hard on my hands…but I don’t do much gardening. I LOVE plants…but I don’t seem to have the “touch” that makes them thrive…so I come visit your blog and see all the beautiful things that respond to your caring touch! Have a great week Lynn! Talk with you soon!

    Jann

Leave a Reply

