Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Name that song.

Over at UK Stampers forum there is a monthly postcard swap; the rules are few but the postcards must be able to go through the post ‘naked’…that is not in an envelope and the postcard be approximately 6 x 4 inches but that is not a hard and fast rule.

The theme this month set by Samantha Read is a favourite song or piece of music. There are some very good postcards posted on the forum already and here is mine:

Favourite song postcard

The most difficult aspect of this theme was choosing a favourite song….. I have so many favourites! Can you guess the song’s title?

I used an embossed resist with shades of blue ink sponged over; red stamped heart, a bottle top for the circles and swirls and the heart/moon image created in a graphics programme on the computer and printed out, a line from the song was computer generated, cut up, inked and adhered to the card.

Thank you for looking x

 

 

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Name that song.

  1. Hey Lynn…

    I highly recommend the Hybrid Perfect Match Ink pad (Fresh Snow) from Papertrey Ink. I have not found a white ink that is really opaque on dark card stock – and this one really is. I also like their Vintage Cream in the Hybrid Ink as well. I use Stazon for a white when it has to stay on something like glass or acrylic. I think I’ve tried just about every one that is out there…and these are my favorites.

    Tell your husband that I was touched by his compliment! My students tell me that they would think something was wrong with me if my hands stopped moving…but your husband made it sound like a nice thing! *smile*

  2. I finally have the internet back on πŸ˜€ I could not even post a comment to your newest creation on my phone. I don’t know what has happened with AT&T but I hope they have it fixed now.

    Your postcard is lovely! I really like your stamp of the seated lady with the flowing gown. You’ve captured the whole feeling of the song with this visual image.

    Any postal carrier, that is old enough, will have that bit of the song stuck in their head πŸ˜€ after they see it upon first sorting then delivering the mail. I’ve got the song buzzing around in my head πŸ˜€ Just a little thought, everyone that encounters your lovely piece of art – here on your blog or out in the real world – will have an instant image pop in their brain when that song actually is heard on the radio or sung in a karaoke lounge πŸ˜€

    Thanks for sharing your crafty-ness πŸ˜€

    Love you – Leslie

  3. Oh Leslie you must have been so frustrated without an internet connection. I’ve missed you!
    I love Bonnie Tyler’s “Total Eclipse of the Heart”! I can just imagine the postman humming that one if he guesses what it is!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

  4. *gasp* Did I read that correctly? Your taking care of your post “naked” now, Lynn? haha Sorry…I just couldn’t resist! πŸ˜‰
    Your postcard is so great and it was so fun that I could guess the song so easily! I love the way you put it all together!
    Thanks so much for your sweet comment on my blog! Yes, you guessed it…my mailbox is even worse than usual! I even marked your last emails as new so they’d be easier to find! The problem is I did that to a couple of others as well! Oops!! lol
    Yes, the finch is very difficult to see on the sunflower! That’s why I didn’t realize that there was an entire flock of yellow Finch in the sunflowers until my husband made a noise across the yard and they all flew away as I was standing there! It really startled me! They started coming back as I stayed still…that’s why I have so many pictures! lol As for the Tiger Lilies…they are actually our Provincial flower and that photo is a very small portion of what we have in our yard. They are beautiful, aren’t they?
    Thankfully the bear hasn’t been back, but I’ll see what else I can find in the coming days!
    Love & Prayers,
    Nancy πŸ™‚

  5. This is lovely Lynn, thank you xx

  6. Hey Lynn…

    My idea for Christmas is more of a mini-album (so no 12×12 papers needed)….with 25 or more small pages pre-prepared so that you can place a picture and a bit of journaling from each day – or just from the season. I have done a mini-album project around Christmas for the past few years…sometimes participating in creating an art journal page or a daily something…but I find if I don’t have that “something” pre-prepared by December 1st the likelihood that I will actually get a daily bit of journaling done goes WAY DOWN. The Christmas season can get so busy that we don’t really enjoy the part that we are SUPPOSED to be enjoying…at least in my crazy world….so I am trying to think of a way to help folks (like myself) get a little project prepared ahead of time. What do you think?

  7. Hmmmm…Advent boxes!?!?! I LOVE this idea….you have made my brain just do a creative cartwheel! I am so glad I have met you!

    Hugs,
    Jann

Leave a Reply

