Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Use a highlighter!

Paula Whittaker , a very talented crafter wrote an article for Craft Stamper magazine (August issue) about a very simple but effective background for stamping over. For the background a highlighter pen is used – those pens used to highlight text on paper – other marker pens can be used for this effect too. The technique is so simple but I had never thought of it!

Highlighter pen background

This is a good way to use up all those offcuts of cardstock we seem to accumulate; I collected together predominantly white cs but also some cream cs. Colour over the whole piece with a highlighter pen or other marker pen such as Copic or Promarker, then swipe distress ink over the coloured section to tone down the pen. In my case I used Vintage Photo and Antique Linen; I was a little light handed with the distress ink over the majority of the piece but darkened the edges more. Use a selection of stamps – silhouette types seem to work well on these backgrounds.

On my base card I masked off an area and stamped some verse or used a script or music stamp through the mask and then adhered the finished piece of cardstock over the top of the script.

Love this technique, hope you have a go!

Thanks for looking x

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “Use a highlighter!

  1. Wow! Love this technique and your cards are gorgeous with a capitol G! TFS

  2. Scrapmate on said:

    I love these cards. That flower stamp is fabulous, I’d love to know the make.

  3. I love these Lynn, I do have some highlighters so will give it go, you’ve totally inspired me. Wishing you a lovely weekend xxx

  4. Love the green one….

  5. These are amazing – I must have a go at this technique

  6. They look fabulous, Lynn!

  7. They all look lovely Lynn, great selection of cards!

  8. These cards are amazing! The blue/green one looks like you are peeking out from the deep woods into the blue sky with the stamped image prominent. The pink one looks like a magical sunset.

    Fantastic technique you have shared. Love your cards. They came out splendidly.

    Love you – Leslie

  9. These look fabulous! I especially love the turquoisy one, those stamped images suit it perfectly. 🙂

  10. Hi there, I just got back from a short anniversary break & found lots of lovely comments from you on my blog! In response to the black & white pearl paper question, generally my go-to place is PDA card & craft- you will find a link to them in the Useful Stuff section to the bottom right of my blog. I saw the highlighter technique article too- looks so good, and I love your take on it. Thats just been added to my list of things to try- that gets longer every day. Hugs, Shaz xx

  11. Argh!!! SO many techniques!!! I must try this….
    I love those flower stamps…just gone on my must have list

    • I think those stamps must be my most used stamps 🙂 This is a great technique and can be used with any marker pen such as Copic, Promarker, Marvy pens as well as highlighters.
      xxx

Leave a Reply

