Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Christmas Wreath

Our two daughters spend quite a time making various decorations for Christmas, something I once used to do but haven’t made any new ones for some years however I was inspired after seeing the photographs one daughter sent to us. She had made not one wreath but two! The first one was a ribbon wreath and looked very festive and attractive but as this one couldn’t be hung on the outside door she decided to make another one with baubles.

I chose to go down a different route with mine; I had been sorting out our huge collection of books and had several piles put ready for recycling and they gave me the idea for the wreath I made! Pages from the Reader’s Digest condensed book were used for the first two rows and a smaller novel provided the inner row.

wreath with sig

Paper cones to make a wreath

I adhered the paper cones to a very large piece of sturdy cardboard using PVA glue. When all was dry then the papers were sprayed lightly with various shimmery mists.

baubles added with hot glue gun

baubles added with hot glue gun

This is the stage the wreath is at just now. What I have in mind to do is to cover another large piece of cardboard with red wrapping paper as a background for the wreath before hanging this on a wall. This turned out to be bigger than I anticipated! It certainly makes a statement and is a great way to recycle unwanted books.

Thanks for looking πŸ™‚

ShabbyBlogsDividerF

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Christmas Wreath

  1. timelesslady on said:

    Terrific…I have so many books…duplicates of children’s classics to use just for projects like this one. I love the wreath idea. Where is my glue and irridescent paint and scissors??? Onward!

  2. You go girl πŸ™‚ Hope you do manage to make one, it is great fun. Thanks for leaving a comment it is much appreciated x

  3. WOW, Lynn!! What a fabulous project! I should have hung on to all those old Reader’s Digest Condensed books! I can imagine how shimmery it must be, and I really like the baubles in the center! Lovely! πŸ™‚

  4. Looks like a great big flower. I Love it! You could do different colors for different seasons.

  5. Wow Lynn! I love your blog, you are such an inspiration. I just love your wreath it’s utterly adorable and a fantastic way to give life to old books. Wishing you a lovely Christmas, Sam and Poppy xxx

  6. Love it, love it, love it!!! What a joyous way to use up old books that were destined to be burned or torn asunder and shredded! I’m looking forward to seeing your finished piece. You are making me itch to get in my room and get creative πŸ˜€

    Love you – Leslie

    • Soooo glad to see you back Leslie, you were beginning to worry me πŸ™‚
      I haven’t had had time to finish the wreath just yet as have a few boxes and cards still to make lol Thank you for your lovely comment πŸ™‚
      Love and hugs
      Lynn xx

Leave a Reply

