Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

A few more Christmas cards

Sorry to be showing these cards now but I didn’t want folk to see what cards they may be receiving for Christmas! I don’t make a huge amount of Christmas cards as sadly most of the people we send cards to just do not appreciate hand made; I have read on many forums the rude remarks some card makers/crafters have received when handing out hand made cards or art work which is very sad. I am fortunate that I have only witnessed one rude action regarding something I have made, sadly it was from a family member – I had made a rather special wedding card (in my opinion!) and when it was handed to my step daughter she immediately gave it to her toddler to play with!!! Suffice to say she didn’t receive any more hand made cards!

Anyway onwards and upwards! Here is a selection of cards I made for those that appreciate them and my apologies to my overseas friends for not sending cards to them but time ran out – I swear Christmas creeps up on us unawares and then suddenly leaps out at the last minute ๐Ÿ™‚

Christmas Card using free stamp from Craft Stamper magazine

Christmas Card using free stamp from Craft Stamper magazine

The whole idea for this card came from Craft Stamper magazine – love that magazine for the inspiration and talent of its creative team.

Xmas card 2 with sig

Another free stamp from Craft Stamper magazine!

Another free stamp from Craft Stamper magazine!

Look Leslie I’ve used ribbon!!

023 with sig017 with sig020 with sig

These three cards were all made in a similar way – post it notes were used to mask off an area, the unmasked space had blue inks (Versamagicย  Ocean Depth and Aegean Blue) stippled over using a stencil brush and then the image stamped with Archival black ink – the last two cards used a free stamp from Craft Stamper magazine.

Thank you for looking x

ShabbyBlogsDividerF

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “A few more Christmas cards

  1. Looky, looky, LOOKY! Ribbon AWESOME! And you said ribbon looked horrid on your cards. This one is fantastic!

    Your cards are totally amazing. I love the stained glass window effect of the first card you present. That one is beautiful, they all are but this one is quite striking.

    I think I’m just a bit partial to the snowflake cards. Maybe because you used ribbon on them :D? I really like the colors you’ve used. The snowflakes just pop right out at us.

    The three you made using the Post-It-Notes as masks are really amazing! How do you get that big image (Santa flying over London) stamped so well. No stray drop marks or shifting of ink from stamp wiggle. I’m totally jealous ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Fantastic use of the free stamps from the magazine. Love your work and I get very inspired by seeing what you do.

    Love you my friend – Leslie

    • You are truly generous with your praise Leslie and I appreciate it ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t think any of us are ever entirely pleased with what we do. Now, touch wood, I rarely get hand shake when stamping so don’t suffer too often from stamp wiggle however put a pen or pair of scissors in my hand and say draw/cut along that straight line and it has plenty of waves in it ๐Ÿ™‚ Also for the big stamp I didn’t remove the post-it masks until the colouring and stamping were complete!
      Thank you kind and loyal friend ๐Ÿ™‚
      Hugs
      Lynn xx

  2. I love handmade cards. This Year I made my own and I will do so again!! My DD gave me a handmade card and I loved it. Maybe it’s because we make our own that we appreciate them more??!!

    • I, too, am very keen on hand made cards; the fact that someone has taken the time and effort to create something especially for me is much appreciated. Sadly there are those who think that hand made means cheap! Sad but true, if only they knew!
      Thanks for visiting Silvi ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Scrapmate on said:

    I love the cards you’ve made especially the ones with the freebie stamps which I never manage to use. The background shading on the Crafty Individuals city scene is wonderful and gives a luminous quality to the card. Have a very happy new year!

  4. They’re all gorgeous, you’ve used your CS freebie beautifully, I think you should send that in it may get published! xxx

  5. Oh, they’re all very beautiful, Lynn! That Card Stamper looks to be a great magazine! I love the colours you’ve used and wonderful job with the ribbon! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

