Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Christmas cards

Hope everyone had a lovely Christmas and managed to avoid the dreaded Novovirus! It has been horrendous this year.

Here are a couple of  Christmas cards designs I made for our grandchildren using Sara’s templates from Cardmaking Paradise   these were fun to make and loved by the little ones. Sara is one very clever lady to keep coming up with new projects and templates!

Percy polar bear

Percy polar bear

Percy polar bear stands up and has a shiny eye and nose; I made two of these with different coloured scarves for the youngest boys!

sleigh card

sleigh card

Now don’t look too closely at the ‘pearls’! I used liquid pearls to decorate the gold strip and set it aside to dry whilst then working on another project, unfortunately a piece of card sprung up and landed in the not-yet- dry ‘pearls’ and smudged them! The small parcels were stamped and coloured on a piece of thick printer paper and then layered to give a 3D effect.

Sleigh card 2

Sleigh card 2

A piece of gold mirror card was used for the ‘body’ of the above sleigh which was embossed with an embossing folder. The light gives the impression that the mirror card has been coloured with alcohol inks but it hasn’t been! The background of both the sleigh cards was created with blue inks and then stamped with a small snowflake/star using Brilliance Cosmic Copper ink.

Thanks for looking

ShabbyBlogsDividerF

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Christmas cards

  1. I do believe I see your pointy little head in the bottom of the first sleigh card 😀 Both of these are beautiful! I now see what you were talking about when you said you don’t keep colored card stock. You tint the white yourself. Pretty COOL I do have to say.

    The Polar Bear didn’t show up on my phone. I’m so glad I came by to have a look. He is just precious!

    Your second sleigh card is lovely! I really like the reflected light on the sleigh’s body from the paper you used. Really a shame that some people don’t realize how much more special a good handmade card is. Well, they will never know either.

    Good to see you posting your creations. Now I’m off to see the other post you did. Amazing! You did 2 IN ONE DAY 😀

    Love you – Leslie

    • What keen eyesight you have Grandma 🙂 Yes there is a reflection of my grey hairs there 😀 I can’t believe I did two postings in one day either!! I am hoping to take photos of my stamp binders and index tomorrow (Monday) for you 🙂
      Thank you my friend
      Hugs Lynn xx

  2. Oh Lynn – I LOVE your cards! Like you said that you are partial to arches and bird cages – I am a sucker for sleighs! I have quite a collection of small ones that my sister and friends have given me over the years – and most years they are scattered in amongst all of the Christmas decor – but with all of us coming down with the flu – we put the normal decor on hold for a year! So I am a little low on my “sleigh” quotient – and really enjoyed seeing yours! Great details and love the little presents too!

    Know your grandsons love the polar bears too – I have a little niece that would think one of those was pretty nifty!

    Glad you shared these – I am still in “enjoy Christmas mode” – so will eak out every bit of celebration I can!

    I do hope you have a great new year – and will definitely be looking forward to what you create! Thanks always for sharing!

    Hugs,
    Jann

    • Oh Jann so sorry to hear that you were all ill with the flu over Christmas 😦 You will have to make sure that you have a surfeit next year. There is something magical about sleighs isn’t there? Can’t you just imagine sitting all snugged up in a horse drawn sleigh through the snow to the Troika music?????
      Thank you for visiting Jann 🙂
      Hgs
      Lynn xx

  3. I’m a bit late bloghopping Lynn, but these are lovely, just adore Percy 🙂 xxx

  4. Wow, Lynn! Your cards are wonderful! I love the beautiful embossed sleighs, and the polar bear is really cute! I wish you all the Very Best in 2013! I’m off to check out your other post!
    Love and Prayers,
    Nancy :o)

Leave a Reply

