Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

New to me

I was beginning to lose interest in card making and had been dabbling in other crafty areas however over on Cardmaking Paradise  we have started a Sketch challenge. I have seen these on various sites and forums but had never taken part so following a sketch was a new challenge for me. However I couldn’t just make a ‘normal’ card so I used an idea gleaned from Christina Griffiths . She makes beautiful cards but they are cards made with an unfolded base layer and then makes a stand attached to the back of the base layer so the card will still stand. Now Christina describes this as the lazy way but I think it is a frugal method of making cards as you save yourself that extra piece of card!

Checkout Christina’s fab blog, Youtube channel and website but not before checking out Cardmaking Paradise!

Onto my card made from the first Sketch Challenge:

First Sketch card

First Sketch card

There isn’t one bit of stamping on this card – something else almost new to me! The base card and mats are pearlescent card from my stash, the background paper is courtesy of a forum friend from Cardmaking Paradise who sent me the image, the left hand strip is pearlescent paper punched with a Martha Stewart border punch and the ‘flower’ is handmade with wired ribbon, lace and a handmade clay button.

Pop over to Cardmaking Paradise and join in the fun, you will be made most welcome 🙂

Thank you for lookingShabbyBlogsDividerF

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “New to me

  1. A beautiful card Lynn I realy love your flower. This has been a wonderful challenge on Cardmaking Paradise. So many variations on the original theme.

  2. No stamping!!!! lol Lynn 🙂 it’s a gorgeous card, off to check out the blogs now, wishing you a lovely day, Sam and Poppy xxx

  3. A really original one 🙂

  4. This is a very elegant card. I confess that blue is a color I like and you have it all over your card :-). The script paper makes me think of a lady at her desk writing to a friend.

    The fabric flower is delightful. You are so talented and creative. I am thrilled to see you have a lot to share on your blog. I will now go see the rest of the lovely things you’ve made.

    Thank you, Lynn for your friendship, live, and support while I fell in the peat bog.

    Love you my friend – Leslie

  5. Such a pretty card, Lynn! Sketch cards are lots of fun to make, aren’t they? Your flower is so pretty! 🙂

Leave a Reply

