Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Altered Keys

Something else that was new to me! I had never heard of altering keys and who would have thought that something so every day and commonplace could be turned in miniature works of art? Certainly not me but I was willing to have a go!

Sara over on Cardmaking Paradise challenged us all to enter this swap; we had to alter two keys, send them to Sara, our swap host, and we would receive two back. There were entrants from around the world and some members became addicted to altering keys.

altered key with handmade button

altered key with handmade button

Like many people we have a collection of keys that no longer seem to belong anywhere, this particular key was for a car that went to the great car scrap heap in the sky. I added beads down the length, attached charms, organza, flowers and a handmade clay button from another swap.

key or butterfly?

key or butterfly?

another view

another view

This old door key is backed with fantasy film with beads, flowers and charms added. Both keys were painted with black enamel paint but alcohol inks, acrylic paint, nail varnish, embossing powder were a few of the media used to colour the keys.

In the next post I will show the keys I received back. A great swap enjoyed by everyone.

Thanks for looking x

ShabbyBlogsDividerF

 

 

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Altered Keys

  1. Oh wow Lynn! I’m instantly enthralled! Thanks for changing the course of my time in my studio today! This is absolutely lovely! Beautiful!

  2. Lovely Lynn! I missed this one, but hopefully next time. I just love what you did. Can’t wait to see what you got in exchange. ;-))
    XO April

  3. I love both of your keys Lynn. I was so lucky to receive the butterfly and it is just stunning . Thank you so much . I really enoyed this swap.

  4. Well I never! They’re fantastic Lynn ♥

  5. Ooooooh! These keys are fantastic! You have changed a couple of old keys into stunning art pieces.

    I love what you have done. Seeing your creative genius…..I do believe the embers of my dying crafting fire are coming to life after seeing your delightful creations.

    Love you – Leslie

  6. superbe creation magnifique bise raymonde

  7. *gasp* Oh, my WOW!! Your keys are so incredibly creative…and beautiful! All the detail is amazing! LOVE what you’ve done here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

