Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Dress Form

I have a love affair going on with dress forms! No idea why but there is something about them that just calls to me. Just after Christmas whilst in Hobby Craft (an expensive UK store!) there were dress forms on special offer and so I took the plunge and bought one.

She has a metal stand attached and stands approximately 40 cm tall (roughly 14 inches) and here she is:

Dress form

Dress form

I shall have to think of a name for her! She is modelling a coat of light blue acrylic paint; while the paint was drying a facial tissue was separated into its 4 component sheets and onto these sheets was stamped a Penny Black Chantilly Lace background image in a blue dye ink. Each sheet was cut into manageable pieces and attached all over with IndigoBlu’s Slap It On. Her necklace consists of a pearl trim hot glued into place as is the other trims and she sports a beaded pin on her shoulder.

Her hat was created from black felt, lace trim,bead trim,Β  feathers and paper roses:

Felt hat

Felt hat

She wouldn’t look out of place at Ascot although her hatΒ  couldn’t compete with Mrs Gertrude Shilling’s outrageous head-gear. I have Christina Griffith’s to thank for instructions on how to create the basic hat. Christine has several Youtube videos on dress forms and hats.

Thank you for looking x

ShabbyBlogsDividerF

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Dress Form

  1. Just lovely! Her dress is so sophisticated! Her hat and pearls the perfect accessories!

  2. She is lovely, I can understand why you were drawn to it. How about Matilda? That would suit her don’t you think… Very pretty!

    • Thank you April for your lovely comment. I do like the name Matilda and had almost christened her that when another name popped into my head – Pandora πŸ™‚ This is the name of the house we are hoping to buy when we have sold ours x

  3. I do understand your attraction to dress forms Lynn. I do rather fancythemmyself aand often think I would llike to try one . Yours is beautiful as is the hat. Great technique as well.

  4. Oh so lovely Lynn. You did an amazing job adouring her. I have been eying the forms but think I judt dont know what to do with it. Gonna be doing a craft space sprucing up when the dust settles for me thanks to a generous gift from my parents for valentines day I think a dress form could be a lovely addition. Thanks for the inspitation,
    P.S. Maureen is trying to reach our Leslie too and will let us know if she gets any word from her.
    Much love my friend,
    Shelly

    • Thank you so much Shelly and so nice to ‘see’ you again. Go on buy one and have a go; it is dressing dolls for grown ups πŸ™‚ There are lots of Youtube videos about them to give you some ideas and Christina Griffiths has two on dress forms plus two on making hats.
      Hugs
      Lynn xx

  5. Fabulous, Lynn. I love the colours you’ve used for Pandora’s dress. Her Ascot hat would be the talk of the Royal enclosure!
    I’ve always been a bit scared of tackling a project like this – I’m sure I would mess it up. At least with a piece of card you can turn it over and start again!

    Maggie

  6. I love her Lynn and immediately thought of Lady Mary from Downton when you said she needed a name! Her little hat is stunning and yes Hobbycraft is expensive! Lots of love from Poppy and me xxx

  7. I saw Indigo Blue demonstrate this on C&C, you have made a fab job of this Lynn πŸ™‚ lainey x

  8. Gorgeous! At first glance I thought you had covered her in fabric, which would have been a mighty task to have no wrinkles. I was stunned to read you stamped the lace pattern on tissue paper. Now that is mind boggling in and of itself. Keeping the paper from sticking to the stamp and tearing. Wowzers to further read you glued the tissue to the painted form! You are totally amazing. Love the hat you have handcrafted as well.

    She’s a right stunner I say πŸ™‚

    Love you Leslie

  9. She is just beautiful – you have made her really happy I’m sure! And the hat is just stunning – you are so talented. x πŸ™‚

  10. Oh, she’s so pretty, Lynn! I really like the technique you used for her dress, and her hat is just gorgeous. Is that a wooden piece under her hat? I don’t think I’ve ever seen one like that…it’s wonderful! The pearls, lace and other embellishments you used are really lovely too! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

