Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Postcards!

Another great forum I am a member of is UK Stampers and every month Samantha Read sets a theme (or not!) for our postcard swap; some months we have a ‘free theme’ which means we have to think for ourselves and I have a real problem with a free month!! I can, and frequently do, think for myself but when it comes to a craft swap my mind can become a complete blank! Panic sets in as there are no parameters! Usually I either fall back on old favourites or luck might play a part and for last month’s swap luck did play a part; I remembered a collage style that Jann Gray did on one of her Youtube videos. I love Jann’s creativity and she makes it all look so easy however she is a perfect teacher and instructor!

May's postcard swap

May’s postcard swap

So incorporating some of Jan’s teachings I created a collage of sorts. I have to say that this was sooooooooo close to going in the bin but my DH wouldn’t le me throw it away! I was convinced it was overdone and far too cluttered. The main image ( Aspects of Design Botanical) was stamped centrally with Versamark and embossed with black detail embossing powder and Versamagic Sahara Sand brushed over it. The image was then masked off and the other images were stamped, again masking where necessary, with Hero Arts ‘Antique Engravings’ stamps and various colours of Versamagic and black Archival inks. A white gel pen was used in places to create highlights.

Thank you for looking and may the sun shine where you are πŸ™‚

ShabbyBlogsDividerF

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Postcards!

  1. Oh wow Lynn, This one is Butterful! LOL
    Very beautiful butterflies

  2. Oh Lynn!
    I love this! Totally not overdone! DH nailed it! Gor-juss! You have great balance with your colors and images. .. so pretty! Your swap partner is going to be delighted!

  3. Good job Rod!! Lynn this postcard is beautiful! I love the flurry of butterflies around, and partially through, the focal piece. This looks almost magical and mystical.

    You did a fantastic job interpreting Jann’s tutorial to your needs.

    Love you – Leslie

  4. So pleased it didn’t go in the bin Lynn. I think it is just lovely

  5. Scrapmate on said:

    I loved this when I first saw it and wished I could have received it. I can’t believe you wanted to throw it out! It all goes together so beautifully. Thank you for your kind comments on my blog – that’s the nicest thing anyone has ever said about my creations.

Leave a Reply

