Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Destined to be a clock!

Our son-in-law now and again has some interesting scrap in his scrap box and when I saw a pile of clutch plates – don’t ask any technical stuff because I don’t know; the men in the family said in that blokey all-knowing way clutch plates – I saw clocks. So I rescued three of them and wished I had collected the lot, too late now though.

clutch plates

clutch plates

Just in case, like me, you had no idea what a clutch plate looks like here is one! Although the one I used is slightly different.

 

I knew I had a round canvas bought from The Works last year that would be a good size to work for what I had in mind but I had a false start.

false start

false start

I thought torn paper adhered around the edges would be a good base but less than half way round I changed my mind. Didn’t like it at all so the paper was soaked off and a rethink; while I was thinking about what to do I got the paints out and put various colours onto the canvas.

painted canvas

painted canvas

By the way the canvas is the size of a very large dinner plate. The paints I used were white acrylic and a mix of pearlised paints. The metal clutch plate was also given some paint and then before it had dried completely most of it was wiped away. I also coloured two wooden pieces of birds on branches using ink pads and marker pens, the wooden bird cage was covered in Versamark and gilded ivory mixed with gold detail embossing powder, then heat embossed.

clutch plate

clutch plate. Centre image is stamped on tissue paper and coloured with pencils with a rub-on quote

So here is the painted clutch plate! The beauty of this particular plate us that it has 12 external lugs so perfect for a clock. The lugs have been painted with gold paint and the rest of the plate has had pearlised blue paint wiped on.

This is how it looks almost finished, needs a clock mechanism to finish it off.

completed canvas

completed canvas

A few spotlighted details of the canvas:

 

bird on branch

bird on branch

 

stamped birds on feathers and skeleton leaves

stamped birds on feathers and skeleton leaves

handmade blue flower, quote stamped on tissue

handmade blue flower, quote stamped on tissue, rub-on flourishes and paper roses

 

paper roses, rub-on flourish, birds stamped on tissue, rub-on flower and hand made pearl 'flower'

paper roses, rub-on flourish, birds stamped on tissue, rub-on flower and hand made pearl ‘flower’

wood birdcage emboosed with gilded ivory ep, small feather and rub-on quote

wood birdcage embossed with gilded ivory ep, small feather and rub-on quote

piece of twig with chain for birdcage, wood bird on branch, feather made from shrink plastic

piece of twig with chain for birdcage, wood bird on branch, feather made from shrink plastic

And finally

 

leave stamped in various coloured inks and flying birds

leave stamped in various coloured inks and flying birds

Thank you for looking x

 

ShabbyBlogsDividerF

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Destined to be a clock!

  1. What an amazing piece. You are so talented Lynn and as they say one man’s trash… is usually waiting to be turned into an off the page master piece:)Kxx

  2. I have been trying to leave you a comment for the past week. Each time I get one started I get distracted for another day or two. THIS time will be the one πŸ™‚

    I love the way your brain works! You have created a fantastic clock piece and I have been drooling over it each time I try to tell you this.

    I’ll keep this short so I don’t get distracted one more time. I hope you post a photo of the finished piece with the clock works installed. I love this!

    Love you – Leslie

    • So glad you were finally able to leave a lovely comment for me Leslie. It was great fun to make however at this time my sister has ‘pinched’ it as she wants to show a friend so I’m not sure when it will be completed now πŸ™‚
      Love and hugs
      Lynn xx

  3. Absolutely stunning – how wonderful to have ‘males’ that let you rummage through their bits and b obs – my idea of heaven!

  4. Sheelagh on said:

    Lovely work Lynn, I think I need to look out for them there clutch plates, my son in law is a mechanic. Neat way to use it too. xx

  5. Scrapmate on said:

    This is a stunning project. I’m so glad you actually managed to make something with it – I’m a great one for picking things up to do something with and never getting around to it.

Leave a Reply

