Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Textures

Over on Cardmaking Paradise we are participating in Fun Weeks! This entails building a house shaped ‘book’ or album over the following weeks; an idea that came from Sheelagh , a very talented crafter/artist who not only crafts as a hobby but has been teaching crafts and running classes for many years.

There are two projects running: the first one involves an ATC swap and then we will make a page for our album to house the ATCs we get back from our swap partners but the second project is a start into exploring  textures in our crafting.  I rarely use buttons in card making although I have a few ‘nice’ ones that I have collected or made however this first texture page was using buttons plus other bits and bobs adhered to a greyboard shape and then cover the whole in gesso, paint and then gild to highlight aspects of the overall design.

Hee is my before photo – with the buttons, bits and bobs adhered to the greyboard with ordinary PVA or white glue.

Everything stuck in place!

Everything stuck in place!

The “roof tiles” are beads created from sea shells, the body of the house has various buttons, some charms, one or two ‘found’ objects that I discovered whilst digging in the garden and a few beads to fill in any open spaces.

And this is how it looks after applying a generous coating of gesso (to give the various surfaces ‘tooth’), a coat of aquamarine mixed with a touch of white acrylic paint, sprayed with a home made shimmer mist and highlighted with gold Goldfinger Paste.

 

After!!

After!!

Oh my word did I enjoy this?! I have seen various items done like this and I must admit it has not had any appeal for me before but this could become a new addiction.

Here are a few close up sections of the completed ‘page’:

bottom left corner

bottom left corner

middle section LHS

middle section LHS

roof

roof

Thanks for looking x

ShabbyBlogsDividerF

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Textures

  1. Jann on said:

    Oh Lynn!

    It is GOORGEOUS! I can see why you want to do it again! I thought the “before” picture was lovely. .. but the “after” is just stunning! May just have to put this on my list to try!  Thanks so much for sharing!

    Blessings, 

    Jann

    Sent from my Galaxy S®III

  2. LOVE it!!! I am so in love with the heart button and the scissors. LOL
    I will have to put mine on my blog. lol didn’t think about it have been busy with other things… Love you roof too!!

  3. Wow Lynn this is just so special .I can see why it would become addictive. I ma missing Cardmaking Paradise but a bit snowed under at the moment, all good though Think I just worked out I am not wonder woman after all lol. Take care

  4. Absolutely stunning love it love it love it. I am looking forward to getting some ‘me’ time soon and having a go at this project

  5. This piece is gorgeous. I thought I liked the buttons you placed at first. Seeing the buttons all colored blue I finally understood what you were doing. The scissors and pin heads show up better against the blue. Your touches of gold over the whole defines your “texture” project in a superb fashion. I really like your “house”.

    Love you – Leslie

  6. Ooo Lynn I’m a huge fan of painting buttons, this is fantastic 🙂 big hugs from Poppy and me, wishing you a wonderful weekend xxx

  7. billiescraftroom on said:

    I liked the before page, but having it all the same colour looks amazing. Love how it compliments the stamped image too.

    What a great idea. I’m going to explore textures and paints this autumn too.

Leave a Reply

