Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Buttons and more buttons

Who knew buttons could be so much fun and that they could help produce some very interesting pieces?? I am now hooked on buttons and have a good collection started but, I have decided, you can never have too many or much of anything in the crafty sense!

After creating the house shape for the Fun Weeks Challenge on Cardmaking Paradise (see post titled Textures) I went on to  see what else could be covered in buttons and charms.  AnneC on Cardmaking Paradise forum came up with a lovely pendant she had made by using a diecut shape so I had a look through my dies and cut out the bird shape to make some brooches. Two of them looked nicer, in my opinion, without being painted so only covered one with paint and gold wax.

black and gold bird brooch

black and gold bird brooch

no paint, think this is my favourite one!

no paint, think this is my favourite one!

tubular beads to define the wing

tubular beads to define the wing

Now you all know what to do with all those buttons!

Thank you for looking xx

ShabbyBlogsDividerF

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Buttons and more buttons

  1. LOVE them All~ Lynn! Beautiful! And I so agree never can have too many LOL
    XO April

  2. What a wonderful idea. I do love your birds. On my to do list for sure Kxx

  3. billiescraftroom on said:

    The middle one is my favorite, what a superb idea. I agree the unpainted ones are prettier but if you were in a situation where you had buttons the right shapes but their coloures didn’t work together the painting would unify the project.

    The painted one looks ‘darker’ more moody if you know what I mean, more steampunk, the unpainted ones look more like vintage jewellery.

    Clever you, what a great set of projects.

    luv n hugs

    Billie 🙂

    • The great part of this is that you can use up those charms, buttons and beads that have been hanging around for years and make pretty pictures 🙂 Thank you for your lovely coments Billie
      Hugs
      Lynn xx

  4. You, my dear friend, have some wonderful buttons in your stash. Smiley faces, high heel pumps, leaves, and I see a “question mark” in there! The turquoise one is my favorite, the third one. I guess the question mark is part of a possible broken heart button.

    These are fantastically artsy bits that would be mighty fine as brooch pins. A real treat for the eyes I must say.

    Love you my friend,
    Leslie

    • Thanks Leslie, I am now on a collecting spree of buttons. I’ve used up quite a few of the ones that have been rattling around for years. These were great fun to do and you will have to give them a try out now that you have access to your craft room 🙂
      Hugs
      Lynn xx

  5. Gosh Lynn, these are all simply gorgeous, what a very clever lady you are!!! Big hugs from Poppy and Me, have a great weekend xxx

  6. Scrapmate on said:

    These are lovely with & without paint. What a great use for buttons and it could also be used for all the small odd beads I have too.

Leave a Reply

