Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Q&L #6

I know we have a fortnight for this Craft Barn challenge but the time seems to fly past at a high rate of knots! Now there is a goodly confusion of mixed wotsits – I don’t think flight is measured in knots is it??

Many thanks for all the lovely people who have visited and left comments, all are appreciated and I am sorry for not getting around to visiting everyone’s posts. Also apologies for those whose work I cannot comment on who post on Pinterest, Facebook and G+.

Flower Power

Flower Power

The words this fortnight are Flower(s) and/or Travel over on the Craft Barn challenge . My goal is to try and use both words so we will kick off with the Flower(s); one or two other participants have use these lyrics however I make no apology for using the same lyrics, this song popped into mind as soon as I saw the words.

I downloaded part of a map showing San Francisco from the internet, the microbus (popularly known as a VW Camper but my DH who worked on these always called them by the maker’s name ) is also a downloaded image. The base is 300gsm smooth white card inked up with Distress inks Bundled Sage and Broken China; stamps are from a Cute Companions set inked up with a Colorbox Primary colours and then extra colour added with Remel pencils. The text is computer generated. Faux stitching added with a black fine tipped pen. The square of white card is mounted onto black card.

Now for something completely different!

Travels with a donkey in Cevennes

Travels with a donkey in Cevennes

I love this Robert Louis Stevenson story, it is amusingly written and tells, in part, of his woes with Modestine, his donkey, and her willful ways. For those who don’t know the story Stevenson set off to walk through the Cevennes region of France in autumn hence the muted colours. Again the image is downloaded from the internet and computer generated text. The inks are mainly Versamagic and Colorbox primary with the birds from Inkylicious Take Flight set stamped in black Archival. The red leaves are another Inkylicious stamp Oriental Awakening but I have no idea who to credit for the pine trees. Again the scene is on 300gsm smooth white card and the mounted onto black card.

I am thoroughly enjoying this challenge and hope to keep up with it! I also must visit more folks posts.

Thank you for looking x

ShabbyBlogsDividerF

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Q&L #6

  1. Two very clever cards Lyn, what an interesting challenge this one is turning out to be. Kx

  2. Snap Lynn, we both chose the same lyric! You must have been very young when this song was released, unlike me. Another two fabulous cards.
    I agree it is a great challenge and I’m so pleased you have been able to join in this year.

    Maggie

  3. Very nice Lynn, Love the Flower bus 😉 Great job on your challenge too.
    xo April

  4. Love your flower bus 🙂 x Great take on the challenge.

  5. Phew found your comment section, nearly missed it! LOL. Super pieces, love the flowery VW and the travel donkey. BJ

  6. Love! Love! Love! your flower power Lynn, made me smile all over my face 😉
    Hope you are having a fab weekend.
    Big hugs from Poppy and me xxx

  7. Love your 2 contrasting cards x Love the VW flower power image and lyric and I am not familiar with the Stevenson story but will seek and read x

  8. fab VW bus, captures the San Fransisco vibe so well.

Leave a Reply

