Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Q&L #11

I’m making sure I don’t leave things to the last minute this time! Over on Craft Barn the quotes and lyrics words are Mountain and/or Mistake. I couldn’t come up a song other than the Marvin Gaye/Diana Ross “Ain’t no mountain high enough” and thought that might be used by others so for this challenge I have used an oft repeated quote for mountain and an excerpt from a Robert Frost poem for mistake.

Mountain:

Making a mountain out of a molehill

Making a mountain out of a molehill

Not sure why this photo has come a strange colour! That there mountain is really green and so are the trees. I did some ‘research’ on this saying and came up with some interesting snippets which I will now bore you all with! There is a bit of a contention over whom first coined this phrase – William Caxton in 1484 or Nicholas Udall in 1548. Nicholas Udall was a cleric, school master and playwright in the 16th century however he was also a translator and during his translation of Erasmus he came across another simile and added “…..and a mountaine of a mollehill” to that simile.

The word ‘mole’ had only been in existence for approximately 200 years at the time of Udall’s writings before that the Old English name was ‘wand’ which gradually changed to ‘want’ or ‘wantitump’ (just love that name, it is still used in some parts of the UK). During the various changes ‘moldewarp’ came into use meaning ‘earth thrower’ . During the time of Henry 8th and the various rebellions arising in York many of the rebels called Henry ‘Moldewarp’!  Anyway enough history for now and back to the present.

 

supplies:

Inks – Versamagic Hint of Pesto, Spanish Olive, Aegean Blue, Ocean Depth

Stamps – Inkylicious Take Flight

Cute Companions -grass

                 Art Impressions – trees

    Indigoblu  – Craft Stamper free stamp.

 

Mistake:

Stopping by Woods - Robert Frost

Stopping by Woods – Robert Frost

I am not a huge poetry fan but I do like Robert Frost’s poetry, it is so simple and very understandable.

Supplies:

Inks – Brilliance Galaxy Gold

             Versamagic Aegean Blue

Black fine liner pen

Sakura Gelly Roll clear

Thank you for looking x

ShabbyBlogsDividerF

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “Q&L #11

  1. Very interesting, your research into the phrase “mole hill”. Thanks for sharing that bit of history .

    Both of your pieces are fab. I like your scene with the rabbits for the Mountain challenge. Your cold winter day scene with the horseback rider is very interesting. Looks to me like the trees are covered in hoarfrost. Beautiful.

    Well done on getting ahead on this challenge.

    Love you – Leslie

  2. twinkletoes2day on said:

    Excellent post with lots of interesting info and beautiful artwork to boot. I am impressed with your choice for Mountain and I too like poetry I can understand, lol :o)

  3. These are both so very lovely Lynn. The second one calls to me, the image you’ve created is just is so peaceful, love it!!
    Poppy and I didn’t get wet because she refuses to go out in the raindrops, so today she pooped 6 times!! Silly dog.
    It’s good for the garden though 😉
    Big hugs to you from us both xxx XXX xxx

  4. These are both lovely, so different but great interpretations of the words. Love all the history behind the molehill:)
    Val x

  5. Love the research into molehill – 15th century – wow I would have thought much later for some reason!! Not familiar with the poem or writer but love it so will be doing research of my own now !! Love the colours and stamps on both projects… off to search, enjoy Sunday x

  6. Love the name Wantitump too sounds so much more fun than mole. Never really “got” poetry at school but it seems to have improved with age lol. Love both your pieces and your trees look green to me

  7. Both pieces are wonderful.

  8. Excellent. I know plenty of people who make a mountain out of a molehill!

  9. Scrapmate on said:

    I’m in awe of you managing to cover both words every fortnight with such thoughtful entries. This time is no exception. I love the 2 fighting hares and the mood in the second piece is so tranquil.

  10. It’s always fun to see how you use both words each time. And I LOVED the back story about the mole hill. Thanks for sharing it, even if you thought you might have bored a few people. I’m personally delighted to read the history of the word mole.

  11. Craftyfield on said:

    Both pages are lovely scenes. Interesting story about the origin of the mole hill too…

  12. Two great pieces! Interesting to read about the mole hill! xx

  13. Debbie on said:

    Both are awesome….but the molehill/mountain really made me smile! Great choice of quotes!

  14. I didn’t realise that the challenge was going to so educational!

    Robert Frost was one of the ten twentieth poets we studied for GCE way back in the mists of time. I can’t remember much about it but I don’t think this was one of his poems we dissected. I particularly like your second piece – your scene is beautifully done – looks so peaceful and cold.

Leave a Reply

