Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Totally potty!

Ask anyone who knows me and they would agree that I am totally potty especially as my one and only brain cell goes into frequent melt down!

mdf pencil box

mdf pencil box

On the shelf above my desk I have four mdf pencil boxes; these hold stencil brushes, coloured pencils, palette knives but one is kept for the sharp crafting items. Two of the boxes I painted and then adhered water colour paper that I had painted and stamped images on; I covered all four sides. The paper was then sprayed with several thin coats of varnish.

Box 1aThe other two boxes I painted with a base colour then added a coat of pva glue followed by another coat of paint and the paint crackled pretty well in places. I stamped images onto the boxes but was not happy with look at all, see for yourselves

pretty rubbish!

pretty rubbish!

I was so fed up with the look of these that I decided to do something a little different. On the Cardmaking Paradise  A very clever and talented lady, Sheel, challenged the members to take part in mixed media projects that she had used at her craft club. For the challenge project we are making a house shaped book but these projects can be used on anything however large or small so that is what I thought I would do to these pencil/tool boxes. So far I have only completed two sides on each of the boxes but this is how they look so far.

corrugated cardboard

corrugated cardboard

This is the easiest one using just corrugated cardboard; these were painted with shimmery acrylic paints in three colours and then various beads glued into the little valleys, a charm accented with Pinflair’s Buff -it in aquamarine. A circular aperture was cut out of the card and backed with a piece of acetate which had an image stamped on and painted on the reverse, the acetate was backed with card. This is so much more interesting to look at!

For the second side I used the aluminium tape technique which I am quite fond of but is almost impossible to get a good photo of!

aluminium tape technique

aluminium tape technique

Adhere to a piece of greyboard are various charms, a wooden number, strips of dry wall tape and a few washers and buttons. The tape is laid down over the top and burnished around the objects. A coat of black paint over the whole surface which is then wiped back leaving traces of paint in the nooks and crannies. I then wiped aquamarine Buff-it on some of the raised surfaces.

All I need to do now is come up with ideas for the remaining two sides!

Thank you for looking and many thanks for the lovely comments left on previous posts, all comments are appreciated.xx

ShabbyBlogsDividerF

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Totally potty!

  1. Wha Beautiful Boxes! It Is So Inspiring To Be Surrounded By Beautiful Things In A Creative Space. A Great Way To Try New techniques, too.

  2. I like them all Lynn, Pretty yes… Rubbish no!!! I do like the textured side better lol Love you and your birds 😉
    xo Nana April

  3. Sheel on said:

    Oooh Lynn, love the new look boxes, the corrugated one is smashing and they certainly brighten up your boxes.

  4. I am enjoying seeing the transformation of your boxes. This is totally cool, seeing the different stages of your artistic growth, showing your before and after photos of your rework. I’m really liking your tactile look. Looking forward to seeing more.

    Love you – Leslie

  5. Such a lot of gorgeousness all in one place!! I love it Lynn.
    Big hugs to you from Poppy and me as always xxxXXXxxx

  6. These are really and truly stunning – great boxes too. I need a clever handy hubby to make me some 🙂

Leave a Reply

