Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Q&L #18

The words for this fortnight’s Craft Barn challenge are Childhood and/or Easier; these were strange words for me and after looking through the various quotes brought back not such pleasant memories. I used a quote by Agatha Christie “One of the luckiest things that can happen to you in life, I think, is to have a happy childhood”, sadly I wasn’t one of the lucky ones and I am just so happy that adulthood lasts much longer than childhood!!

childhood

childhood

Supplies:

Hand made foam stamp

Unknown rubber stamp

Inks – Versamagic Mango Madness

             Archival Jet Black

 

Easier:

I suppose because the childhood quote brought back not so nice memories then this Easier quote resonated very much with that period because my mother was not only an abusive person but she could also criticize for England. This quote is by Benjamin Disraeli “How much easier it is to be critical than to be correct”.

Easier

Easier

 

Supplies:

Stamps – PaperArtsy letters Plate 5

Inks – Distress Inks Bundled Sage, Broken China, Spiced Marmalade

             Archival Jet Black

 

Thank you for looking x

ShabbyBlogsDividerF

 

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Q&L #18

  1. Craftyfield on said:

    Well chosen quotes, very well illustrated. Love the stamp in the second one, never noticed it before amongst the PA stamps!

  2. Two great pieces. I love both quotes and the silhouette stamp on the first one! xx

  3. Fiona Spainp on said:

    Memories can be both joyful and sad. Your memories produced some great art.

  4. twinkletoes2day on said:

    You have produced two lovely pieces as always 😀

  5. Lynn, I’m sorry to read that you had a rough childhood. It’s a pity, because mine was so wonderful, filled with such fond memories.

    I was impressed with your handmade stamp. Very clever. And I appreciated the quote by Disraeli, AND the art that went along with it.

  6. I like the way you have chosen to interpret these two words in your crafting. Your images are very well placed on each of the pieces. The fun childhood one is open and free while the more darker one conveys your message and feelings captured in the tight use of space. Very well done.

    Love – Leslie

  7. I had a similar experience in my childhood, can empathise with you on many levels. Huge thing to share but in a positive way describing your emotions and why this challenge wasn’t easier for you…

    Two fantastic pieces of lovliness, great hand made stamp, the oranges which represent your Sacral Chakra which deals with emotions is well used.

    Two fantastic entries, well done:-) xxx

  8. You have been able to create wonderful works of art – so moving with deep sentiments – but which I can relate to as well – but the artwork takes the edge off the pain doesn’t it.

    Cleverly done.

  9. A painful week for you but you have produced two super pieces, Lynn.

    I have the stamp you have used on your first piece and I have never used it – a possible contender for the bookmark swap? Well one amongst many! My stamp come on a set of silhouette stamps from Stamp Addicts – Gone Fishin’ SA-5013.

  10. They’re both great but the first one strikes a cord with me. I always love your delicate stamping style 🙂
    Wishing you a lovely weekend.
    Big hugs from Poppy and me 🙂 xxXxx

Leave a Reply

