Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Craft Barn Alpha Challenge

Hello everyone, hope you are all enjoying today’s sunshine! I have two for the price of one Craft Barn alpha challenges this time. I missed the deadline for the ‘J’ with a twist of dragonfly so will post that one below this fortnight’s alpha which is a straight forward letter with no twists of anything! The letter is ‘A’ and here is my (very simple) interpretation of it…

Dictionary 05-16 A sig

I do like Acers very much especially in the autumn when they have those beautiful colours if the weather has been cold enough that is.

Materials used:

Wrinkle free method using DI inks – Seedless preserve, Mermaid Lagoon, Fossilized Amber.

Memento Inks – Olive Grove, Cottage Ivy, Morocco

Stamp – Inkylicious Oriental Awakening

Computer generated Dictionary definition.

 

‘J’ with a dragonfly:

I went very simple for this challenge and printed off an image of a Junk boat and stamped the dragonfly on one of the sails; as this type of boat was used predominantly in Asia and dragonflies are usually associated with Asian culture they seemed to go well together!!

Dictionary 05-16 J with a dragonfly sig

Materials used:

Distress Ink – Vintage Photo

Archival Ink – Jet Black

Dragonfly stamp unknown

Bird stamp Inkylicious Take Flight

Zig ‘Wink of Stella’

Internet for Image. 

Thank you for looking and may the sunshine on you over the  Bank Holiday weekend x

ShabbyBlogsDividerF

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Craft Barn Alpha Challenge

  1. Kay Ballard on said:

    Acers are one of my favourite trees, and using junk for the J word is inspired. Love both entries.

  2. I like acers too. They look so graceful billowing in the wind. The J was a tricky twist but you have incorporated the dragonfly seamlessly. Your acer scene has an oriental feel to it.

  3. Craftyfield on said:

    I’ll have took up images of Acer as I can’t quite place them! So a new word for me… Love your Dragonfly page too the junque image is lovely.

  4. I would have been by sooner, but late Tuesday night, thunderstorms knocked my power out. To make matters worse, my internet is having a meltdown, and I have to reboot after nearly every person I visit.

    I have to admit (rather ashamedly) that I have never heard of Acers before. This is a tree of which I have no real knowledge. However, it is a unique word and beautifully illustrated.

    It’s too bad you missed the J challenge, because your Junk and dragonfly go together SO well!

  5. thassos456 on said:

    2 great pages. Love the idea with the dragonfly in the sails 🙂

  6. I love the little hint of Autumn on the lower leaves of the acer. You dealt with that pesky dragonfly perfectly on your “j” page.

  7. Lovely page, I love Acers too, got quite a few in my Japanesey garden! Thank you for entering The Craft Barn Challenge.
    Jane x

Leave a Reply

