Gardenpinks' Blog

This, that and life!

Black Magic

Over on the CardMaking Paradise forum some of us suddenly became inspired to indulge in a little colouring of stamped images that had been stamped with white pigment ink. This came about after I had seen a YouTube video by Gina K  . I don’t have Prismacolor pencils but do have plenty of  coloured pencils including a set of Faber and Castell called Wyvern.

My first attempt at this technique was done on Kraft card stock using Brilliance Moonlight white pigment ink; the trial turned out okay but have to say I wasn’t overwhelmed with it. I went over some of the pencil with Marvy Le plume markers and added extra punch to the white ink with a white gel pen. The text i embossed with white detail embossing powder.

I next tried the technique on black card stock and that was much, much better!

I added some details with a white gel pen. I then wondered how oil pastels would fair over white pigment ink and was very pleased with the results although I must add that I did also use coloured pencil for the finer parts of the stamped image. The oil pastels give a much more vibrant colour but will need some kind of fixative as the colours can be rubbed off.

The larger piece has become a postcard and the two smaller cards are now ATCs for an ATC swap with Rebel Stampers !

  Thanks for looking x

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Black Magic

  1. I love the white on black card. Those ATCs look gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

